Romantic Cities Rheinland-Pfalz

Detail-Informationen zu Ihrer Auswahl

Basilika St. Kastor | Koblenz

The St. Castor Basilica is the oldest surviving church in Koblenz. The monastery church was consecrated in 836 and was the scene of many important historical events. The St. Castor monastery was a meeting and mediation point for emperors and kings, as well as their descendants. In the Romanesque church in 842, the trial of the sons of Emperor Louis the Pious took place. This led to the division of the Frankish Empire in the Treaty of Verdun the following year.

The building as it stands today dates mainly from the middle of the 12th century. On 30th July 1991, Pope John Paul II elevated the Castor Church to a minor basilica. The St. Castor Basilica, together with the Liebfrauenkirche and St. Florins’ Church characterise the silhouette of the Koblenz old town.

A Russian city commandant with a sense of humour

There is an amusing story about the fountain in the square in front of the basilica. The French prefect, Doazan, had it engraved somewhat prematurely before the end of the conflict in 1812 in anticipation of the victorious outcome of Napoleon’s Russian campaign; the inscription on the classic fountain reads:

"A Napoleon le Grand, an. MDCCCXII Memorable par la Campagne contre les Riusses sous la Prefecture des Jules Doazan."

(eng: To Napoleon the Great. 1812 to commemorate the Russian campaign under the prefecture of Jules Doazan).

As we now know, the Russian campaign ended with the crushing defeat of Napoleon. The Russian soldiers came to Koblenz which had been abandoned by the French. The Russian city commander showed a sense of humour when, on 1st January 1814, he added the following to the Napoleon memorial in French:

"Vue et approuvé par nous, le Commandant Russe de la Ville de Coblence."

(eng: Seen and approved by us, the Russian commander of the city of Koblenz)

In doing so he immortalised the memory of Napoleon’s defeat and the end of French rule in Koblenz.

You can reach us at:

Basilika St. Kastor
Kastorhof
56068 Koblenz

Phone(0049) 261 37759
e-mailpfarrei@sankt-kastor-koblenz.de
websitehttp://www.sankt-kastor-koblenz.de/

Links

Arrival by train
bahn.de - Anreiseformular

Romantic Cities Rheinland-Pfalz

Detail-Informationen zu Ihrer Auswahl

Basilika St. Kastor | Koblenz

Die Basilika St. Kastor ist die älteste erhaltene Kirche in Koblenz. Die 836 geweihte Stiftskirche war Schauplatz bedeutender historischer Ereignisse. Das Stift St. Kastor war Treffpunkt und Schlichtungsort der Kaiser und Könige sowie deren Nachfahren. In dem romanischen Gotteshaus fanden 842 die Verhandlungen der Söhne Kaiser Ludwigs des Frommen statt, die im darauffolgenden Jahr zur Teilung des fränkischen Reichs im Vertrag von Verdun führten.

Der Bau in seiner heutigen Form stammt vorwiegend aus der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts. Am 30. Juli 1991 hat Papst Johannes Paul II. die Kastorkirche zur Basilica minor erhoben. Die Basilika St. Kastor prägt mit der Liebfrauenkirche und der Florinskirchen die Silhouette der Koblenzer Altstadt.

Ein russischer Stadtkommandant mit Humor

Amüsant ist die Geschichte zu dem Brunnen auf dem Platz vor der Basilika, dem Kastorbrunnen. Der französische Präfekt Doazan ließ 1812 etwas voreilig, in Erwartung des siegreichen Ausgangs von Napoleons Russlandfeldzug, noch vor Ende des Feldzuges folgende Inschrift in den dort stehenden klassizistischen Brunnen meißeln:

"A Napoleon le Grand, an. MDCCCXII Memorable par la Campagne contre les Riusses sous la Prefecture des Jules Doazan."

(dt.: An Napoleon den Großen. 1812 zum Gedenken an den Russlandfeldzug unter der Präfektur von Jules Doazan).

Bekanntlich endete der Russlandfeldzug mit einer verheerenden Niederlage Napoleons. Die siegreichen russischen Soldaten kamen auch in das von den Franzosen verlassene Koblenz. Der neue, russische Stadtkommandant bewies Humor, als er am 1. Januar 1814 unter die von Doazan eingemeißelte Lobpreisung Napoleons seine Bestätigung, natürlich in französisch, hinzufügte:

"Vue et approuvé par nous, le Commandant Russe de la Ville de Coblence."

(dt.: Gesehen und genehmigt von uns, dem russischen Kommandanten der Stadt Koblenz)

Damit verewigte er die Erinnerung an Napoleons Niederlage und das Ende der französischen Zeit in Koblenz.

So erreichen Sie uns

Basilika St. Kastor
Kastorhof
56068 Koblenz


Tel. (0049) 261 37759
E-Mailpfarrei@sankt-kastor-koblenz.de
Internethttp://www.sankt-kastor-koblenz.de/

Links

Anreise mit der Bahn
bahn.de - Anreiseformular